Indian Heroes IloveIndia
His unfailing loyalty and competence earned him a coveted position in the cabinet when Congress came to power in 2004. Explore all about Pranab Mukherjee's profile and life in the biography below.

Pranab Mukherjee

Born On: 11 December 1935
Born In: Mirati of Birbhum District in West Bengal, India
Career: Political Leader, Journalist, Teacher, Writer

Pranab Mukherjee, is the 13th President of India and has been in the office since July 2012. Before assuming the office as the President of India, he was finance minister in the Manmohan Singh government. He was a senior member of the cabinet committees on political and economic affairs, security, infrastructure, parliamentary affairs, prices, Unique Identification Authority of India and World Trade Organization and these varied experiences have been a major plus in his career. He was the finance minister of India from the year of 2009-2012. Apart from the political life, Mukherjee is well respected among the social circles and is known for his loyal and competent nature. One can see his passion toward the growth of Indian National Congress through his contributions. Read on to know more about Mr. Pranab Mukherjee.

Early Life
Pranab Mukherjee, son of Kamada Kinkar Mukherjee and Rajlakshmi Mukherjee, was born in Mirati village near Kirnahar town, Birbhum, West Bengal. Pranab's father was an active member of Indian National Congress and was also a member of West Bengal Legislative Council. It was quite certain that K.K.Mukherjee's son would follow his footsteps. Hence, it was little surprise when Pranab decided to enter politics. As far as his education is concerned, he attended the Suri Vidyasagar College later went on to study history, political science and LL.B from the University of Calcutta.

Pranab Mukherjee started off his career as a college-teacher and then went on to work as a journalist for the Bengali publication Desher Dak. He was also appointed as the trustee of Bangiya Sahitya Parishad and the President of Nikhil Bharat Banga Sahitya Sammelan. These experiences paved his way to the Parliament. He joined the Congress party and was elected as the member of Rajya Sabha. He joined the cabinet as Union Deputy Minister in Industrial Development in the year 1973. For a brief period, he formed his own political party Rashtriya Samajwadi Congress, but later merged it with Congress party in 1989. P.V. Narasimha Rao appointed him as the deputy chairman of the planning commission and a union cabinet minister during his tenure. He also served as External Affairs Minister for the first time in Rao's cabinet and was also voted Outstanding Parliamentarian. Since 1985, he became the President of the West Bengal state unit of Congress but resigned in July 2010 due to certain pressure. After his resignation, Pranab Mukherjee was made Leader of the House in the Lok Sabha when he won the Lok Sabha elections for the first time from Jangipur. Apart from being Leader of the House in Lok Sabha, he also heads the Congress Parliamentary Party and the Congress Legislative Party which consists of all the Congress MPs and MLAs in the country. He was always known for his outstanding performances while being in the various high profile Ministries including Defence, Finance, External Affairs, Revenue, Shipping, Transport, Communication, Economic Affairs, Commerce, and Industry. During the Cabinet, pre Lok Sabha elections, Pranab played donned different roles - as a chairman of the Cabinet Committee of Political Affairs and Union Minister in Finance Ministry despite already being Union Minister of External Affairs. He also played a central role in the implementation of the Indo-US civilian nuclear agreement. His competence and loyalty have led to his closeness to Sonia Gandhi and Manmohan Singh and that gained him the position of Minister of Defence when the party came to power in 2004. This was not all. After two years, in 2006, he was appointed as the External Affairs Minister of India. Pranab Mukherjee's works stood appreciated and was briefly considered for the post of the largely ceremonial Indian presidency but later duly dropped after his contribution in the Union Cabinet was considered practically indispensable. For the second time, he became the Finance Minister of India in the second government of Manmohan Singh and during his tenure; he expanded funding for social sector schemes, like the National Rural Employment Guarantee Act, girl's literacy, and health care. His works are now recognized till date and as a finance minister his role stands appreciated. Mukherjee was nominated as the candidate of the United Progressive Alliance for the presidential elections and for that purpose he resigned from the government. He took an oath in by the Chief Justice of India on 25th July 2012. He is the first Bengali ever to hold the position of the President of India.

As an author, he has contributed a lot to the society by spreading out his way of thought and ideas for its development. His books published are:
Awards And Accolades
1935: Born in Mirati village, West Bengal.
1952-1964: He was a member of AICC, and West Bengal Legislative Council and President, District Congress Committee, Birbhum (WB).
1957: Married to Suvra Mukherjee.
1973-1974: Deputy Minister, Industrial Development
1974: Deputy Minister, Shipping, and Transport
1974-1975: Minister of State for Finance
1975-1977: Minister of Revenue and Banking (Independent Charge)
1980-1982: Cabinet Minister of Commerce and Steel & Mines
1982-1984: Cabinet Minister of Finance with additional charge of Ministry of Commerce and Supply
1991-1996: Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission
1993-1995: Cabinet Minister of Commerce
1995-1996: Cabinet Minister of External Affairs
2004: Cabinet Minister of Defence
In Parliament
1969: Elected to Rajya Sabha
1975, 1981, 1993, 1999: Re-elected to Rajya Sabha
2004: Elected to 14th Lok Sabha
1978-1980: Deputy Leader, Congress Party in Rajya Sabha
1980-1985: Leader of the House, Rajya Sabha
1996-1999: Member, Consultative Committee for External Affairs
1997: Chairman, Department- related Parliamentary Standing Committee on Science & Technology, Environment & Forests
1998 onwards: Chairman, Department-related Parliamentary Standing Committee on Home Affairs
2004: Became the Defence Minister of India
2006: Became the Foreign Minister of India
2007: He was honored with India's second highest civilian award Padma Vibhushan.
2009-2010: He presented the Union budget of India.
2009-2012: The Finance Minister of India
2012-Present: The 13th President of India