Fitness IloveIndia
Given here is information on the history of Tripartite Struggle of three major empires in India.

Tripartite Struggle

The Tripartite struggle was a struggle for power and control over the central Gangetic valley among three major empires in India during the 8th Century. These three empires were the Pratiharas, the Rastrakutas and the Palas. The Pratiharas were settled in western India in the Avanti - Jalaor region. The Rastrakutas who were essentially from the Deccan region were interested in Kannauj due to the fact that it formed an important center for trade and commerce. The Palas occupied the eastern parts of India (present day Bengal) and were very strong contenders in this struggle.

The Pratihara ruler named Vatsaraja had a dire ambition to take control over the region of Kannauj. At the same time, the Pala ruler Dharmapala also had an eye over the same region. This brought the two rulers into a conflict. During this time the Rastrakuta king Dhruva attacked the two of them and claimed to have won. This is what led to the Tripartite Struggle. Dharmapala however somehow gained control over the territory and set his nominee on the throne. The Rastrakutas were busy with their own problems in their kingdom in south.

During the end of the 8th Century, the successor of Pratihara ruler Vatsaraja named Nagabhata II attacked Kannauj and established his rule, though it was short lived. In the beginning of the 9th Century he was defeated by the Rastrakuta ruler Govinda III. However, he was kept busy in internal politics by an alliance of different kingdoms in the south. The struggle for Kannauj became serious after the Pratiharas exercised control over it.

During the rule of Krishna III, there was successful campaign against the Cholas. The Rastrakutas also formed a matrimonial relationship with the Gangas and defeated the kingdom of Vengi. By the end of the 9th Century the power of the Rastrakutas started to decline along with the Palas. This was seen as an ideal opportunity by the feudal king Taila II who defeated the Rastrakuta ruler and declared his kingdom there. This came to be known the Later Chalukya dynasty. Their kingdom included the states of Karnataka, Konkan and northern Godavari. By the end of the tripartite struggle, the Pratiharas emerged victorious and established themselves as the rulers of central India.