Sports IloveIndia
Read on to know about Federation Cup, Indian football tournament

Federation Cup

Federation Cup is the second most prestigious club football tournament in India, after the National Football League (NFL). An annual knockout style club football tournament, it was started by the All India Football Federation in 1977 and involves all the major NFL teams. The 27th edition of the Federation Cup held in Goa in 2005 got a shot in the arm, with Zee Sports providing live telecast. In an effort to woo the Indian viewers, Zee employed state-of-the-start broadcasting equipment and a star commentary team as well. To bring in the glamour quotient to the tournament, the media group also introduced a group of cheerleaders called the Zeebras. In the 2007 year, a total of 16 clubs had participated and the event was held in Ludhiana.

Top 10 Clubs of the Federation Cup

Mohun Bagan A.C.
A national sports club based in Kolkata, the Mohun Bagan club has been the best team in the tournament till date, recording a total of 13 victories spanning in the years 1978, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1986, 1987, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1998, 2001, 2006, 2008. The club has also been in the runners up position for 4 years.

Kingfisher East Bengal Football Club
Formerly known as the East Bengal Club, it is based in Kolkata. The club has recorded a total of 5 victories spanning over the years 1978, 1980, 1985, 1996, 2007. The club has 7 times bagged the runners-up position in the tournament.

Salgaocar S.C.
Based in Vasco, Goa, it is an Indian professional football club. The club has recorded a total of 3 victories in the years 1988, 1989 and 1997. The club has also managed to retain the runners-up position for 3 times.

Mohammedan Sporting Club
Founded in 1891 at Kolkata, Mohammedan Sporting Club has bagged the coveted title for two times in a row in the years 1983 and 1984. The club was thrice slated in the runners-up position in the tournament.

Mahindra United
A professional football club based in Mumbai, Mahindra United has twice bagged the Federation Cup title in 2003 and 2005. The club twice held being at the runners-up position.

JCT Mills F.C.
An Indian professional football club based in Phagwara, Punjab, JCT Mills F.C. has twice donned the hat of being first in the tournament, in the years 1995 and 1996.

Kerala Police
Belonging to the state of Kerala, the club has once bagged the prestigious title of being the winner in the Federation Cup in the year 1928.

Dempo Sports Club
One of India's most prominent football teams based in Panjim, Goa, dempo Sports Club has only once managed to score victory in the tournament in the year 2004.

BSF (Border Security Force)
The team comprising of officials from the Border Security Force, it bagged the popular and esteemed title once in the tournament in the year 1979.

ITI (Indian Telephone Industries)
ITI (Indian Telephone Industries) team has only once managed to capitalize in the tournament, bagging the title in the year 1977.