Sports IloveIndia
Here is a brief history of Cricket World Cup.

Cricket World Cup 2007

ICC Cricket World Cup, popularly known Cricket as World Cup is a quadrennial event that is held once in every four years. World Cup Cricket is the premiere championship of One-day International Cricket (ODI) and the event is organized by International Cricket Council (ICC). ICC World Cup Cricket 2007 is being held in West Indies.

The first Cricket World Cup was organized in 1975 in England. Since then seven World Cup Championships have been held in 1979, 1983, 1987, 1991, 1996, 1999 and 2003, respectively. The present World Cup is the ninth edition of the championship.

Brief Summary of Cricket World Cup

Year Venue Winner Runners Up Winning Captain
1975 England West Indies Australia Clive Lloyd
1979 England West Indies England Clive Lloyd
1983 England India West Indies Kapil Dev
1987 India & Pakistan Australia England Allan Border
1991 Australia & New Zealand Pakistan England Imran Khan
1996 India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Australia Arjuna Ranatunga
1999 England Australia Pakistan Steve Waugh
2003 South Africa Australia India Ricky Ponting

The 2007 Cricket World Cup is the grandest of all the World Cups held so far. It will feature 16 teams, i.e. Australia, South Africa, Scotland, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, India, Bangladesh, Bermuda, New Zealand, England, Kenya, Canada, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland. The teams are divided into four groups. Within each group, the teams will play each other in a round-robin format. Teams will earn points for wins and half-points for ties. The top two teams from each group, a total of eight, will move forward to the "Super 8" round. The top two teams from each group will play the other six teams that progressed from different groups. Teams will earn points in the same way as the group stage, but will also bring points scored against the other team who qualified from the same group to the "Super 8" stage. The top four teams from the "Super 8" round will advance to the semi-finals, and the winners of the semi-finals will compete in the final.

The tournament will start on March 13, 2007 and the final will be held on April 28, 2007 at Kingston Oval in Barbados

This site was last updated on 15/02/2007.