Sports IloveIndia
Read about information on playing conditions of Cricket World Cup 2007

Rules and Regulations of ICC Cricket World Cup 2007

All the matches will be One Day Internationals (ODI) and will operate as per normal ODI rules. All matches are 50 overs a side unless stated otherwise by the umpires or match referee. A bowler can only bowl a maximum of 10 overs per match. In the event of bad weather, each side must have batted and bowled a minimum of 20 overs each to obtain a result. Otherwise, the match will be declared a no-result.

Matches will be held from 9:30 to 17:15 West Indies time. The first innings will run from 9:30 - 13:00 and the 2nd innings will run from 13:45 to 17:15

Point System
In the Group Stage and in the Super 8 Stage, the point system is as follows:

Win: 2 points
Tie/ No Result: 1 point
Loss: 0 points.

The top two teams from each Group will go into the Super 8 stage. The top two teams from each group will play the other six teams that progressed from different groups. The top 4 from the Super 8s will go into the Semi-Finals. The teams will be decided on the basis of points.

In the event where two or more teams have same points, then the following methods in turn will be used to decide which team goes through:
In the case of a tie or no-result, the Semi-Finals will be decided by the following:

Tied-Match - The teams will compete in a Bowl-out to decide who goes through to the Final.

No-Result - The team with the higher net-run-rate in the Super 8 stage will go through to the Final.

If such an event occurs in the final, the following methods will be used:

Tied-Match - In the event of a tied match the teams will compete in a Bowl-out to decide the winners.

No-Result - Both Teams will be declared joint winners.

This site was last updated on 15/02/2007.