Sports IloveIndia
Read on to know about Ranji Trophy, Indian cricket tournament

Ranji Trophy

Ranji trophy is the first domestic first-class cricket championship played in India between different city and state sides. It is very similar in pattern to the County Championship in England. It is undoubtedly the most important tournament in India's domestic cricket season. Players who perform well in the Ranji have a very fair chance to play for India at the international level; this is why Ranji turns out to be one of the finest exhibitions of India�s young cricket talent. Not only selectors but also the cricket crazy people in the country look forward to this tournament. It is organized by BCCI, The Board of Control for Cricket in India every year.

The first Ranji Trophy took place in the 1934-35. It was then thought to be named as the �The Cricket Championship of India�. However, later the name was kept Ranji, after Sir Ranjitsinghji Vibhaji of Nawanagar, who has the honor of playing test cricket for England and is widely regarded as one of the finest batsmen the game has ever seen. The trophy was donated by the then Maharaja of Patiala, H.H. Bhupender Singh to the BCCI. The first Ranji was own by the team of Bombay won the first Ranji Trophy Championship by defeating North India.

Most of the teams playing Ranji Trophy have regional associations; amongst them most of the teams represent different states of the country. However, there are some institutional teams such as Railways and Services which do not have regional link-ups. There are also teams that do not represent states or institutions but individual cities such as Mumbai or Hyderabad. The grouping of teams in Ranji in its initial stage was done on the zonal basis till 2002-2003 and there were five groups, each from the North, South, East, West and Central Zone. However after 2002-2003, the pattern of Elite Group and the Plate Group was introduced. In 2006-2007, the groups were relabeled as the Super League and Plate League.

Pattern of Play
The pattern of the Ranji Tournament is �Test Cricket Format� and the entry into the finals in done in a �knock out� pattern. There are two groups of team in the Plate league, each consisting of six individual teams. On the similar basis, the Super League is divided into two groups of team with eight each consisting of eight individual teams. The top two teams of each group of the Plate League are then made to play a knock out session with the three top teams of the each group of the Super League. The two top teams after this knock out session then play against each other in the finals. The decision of the grouping of next season is also done here in advance. The bottom two teams of the Super League are then relegated to the Plate League for the next season and the top two teams of the plate League are introduced to the Super League for the next season.

Ranji Trophy Statistics

Year Winner Runner-up
2008-2009 Mumbai Uttar Pradesh
2007-2008 Delhi Uttar Pradesh
2006-2007 Mumbai Bengal
2005-06 Uttar Pradesh Bengal
2004-05 Railways Punjab
2003-04 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
2002-03 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
2001-02 Railways Baroda
2000-01 Baroda Railways
1999-00 Mumbai Hyderabad
1998-99 Karnataka Madhya Pradesh
1997-98 Karnataka Uttar Pradesh
1996-97 Mumbai Delhi
1995-96 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
1994-95 Mumbai Punjab
1993-94 Mumbai Mumbai
1992-93 Punjab Maharashtra
1991-92 Delhi Tamil Nadu
1990-91 Haryana Mumbai
1989-90 Bengal Delhi
1988-89 Delhi Bengal
1987-88 Tamil Nadu Railways
1986-87 Hyderabad Delhi
1985-86 Delhi Haryana
1984-85 Mumbai Delhi
1983-84 Mumbai Delhi
1982-83 Karnataka  Mumbai
1981-82 Delhi Karnataka
1980-81 Mumbai Delhi
1979-80 Delhi Mumbai
1978-79 Delhi Karnataka
1977-78 Karnataka Uttar Pradesh
1976-77 Mumbai Delhi
1975-76 Mumbai Bihar
1974-75 Mumbai Karnataka
1973-74 Karnataka Rajasthan
1972-73 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
1971-72 Mumbai Bengal
1970-71 Mumbai Maharashtra
1969-70 Mumbai Rajasthan
1968-69 Mumbai Bengal
1967-68 Mumbai Madras
1966-67 Mumbai Rajasthan
1965-66 Mumbai Rajasthan
1964-65 Mumbai Hyderabad
1963-64 Mumbai Rajasthan
1962-63 Mumbai Rajasthan
1961-62 Mumbai Rajasthan
1960-61 Mumbai Rajasthan
1959-60 Mumbai Mysore
1958-59 Mumbai Bengal
1957-58 Baroda Services
1956-57 Mumbai Services
1955-56 Mumbai Bengal
1954-55 Madras Holkar
1953-54 Mumbai Holkar
1952-53 Holkar Bengal
1951-52 Mumbai Holkar
1950-51 Holkar Gujarat
1949-50 Baroda Holkar
1948-49 Mumbai Baroda
1947-48 Holkar Mumbai
1946-47 Baroda Holkar
1945-46 Holkar Baroda
1944-45 Mumbai Holkar
1943-44 Western India Bengal
1942-43 Baroda Hyderabad
1941-42 Mumbai Mysore
1940-41 Maharashtra Madras
1939-40 Maharashtra United Province
 1938-39 Bengal Southern Punjab
1937-38 Hyderabad Nawanagar
1936-37 Nawanagar Bengal
1935-36 Mumbai Madras
1934-35 Mumbai Northern India