Sports IloveIndia
Read on to know about Sunfeast Open, Indian tennis tournament

Sunfeast Open

The Sunfeast Open made its debut in the Women's Tennis Association (WTA) Tour calendar in 2005 with Kolkata playing host to the first edition. The tournament, India's first ever Tier III WTA event, was held from September 19-25, 2005 and carried a total prize money of US $170,000. The tournament, played at the Netaji Subhash Indoor Stadium, saw Russian top seed Anastasia Myskina completing a double by winning both the singles and doubles titles. While the Russian made merry, Indian teen sensation Sania Mirza crashed out of the second round much to the disappointment of the home crowd.

This Sunfeast Open 2005 was brought to Kolkata with the help of the Government of West Bengal and ITC, one of India's corporate giants. Globosport, the sports and entertainment company promoted by tennis star Mahesh Bhupathi were the owners and managers of the Sunfeast Open 2005. After the mega success of 2005 edition, the next edition was played in Kolkata from September 18-24, with ITC Foods being the lead sponsor and the prize money worth of $170,000.

The fourth edition of WTA Sunfeast Open, scheduled to be held in Kolkata from October 6-12, 2008, with a prize money worth of $175,000 was shifted to Mumbai as the dates clash with the Durga Puja, the biggest festival of Bengal. However, the tournament supposed to be held at the Cricket Club of India in Mumbai, the same venue where another tennis event ATP Kingfisher Open is held was even cancelled.

List Of Winners Of Three Seasons

Singles Tournament

Winner: Anastasia Myskina (Russia)
Runners up: Karolina �prem (Croatia)
Score: 6-2, 6-2

Winner: Martina Hingis (Switzerland)
Runners up: Olga Poutchkova (Russia)
Score: 6-0, 6-4

Winner: Maria Kirilenko (Russia)
Runners up: Mariya Koryttseva (Ukraine)
Score: 6-0, 6-2

Doubles Tournament

Winner: Elena Likhovtseva (Russia) & Anastasia Myskina (Russia)
Runners up: Neha Uberoi (India) & Shikha Uberoi (India)
Score: 6-1, 6-0

Winner: Liezel Huber (South Africa) & Sania Mirza (India)
Runners up: Yulia Beygelzimer (Ukraine) & Yuliana Fedak (Ukraine)
Score: 6-4, 6-0

Winner: Vania King (United States) & Alla Kudryavtseva (Russia)
Runners up: Alberta Brianti (Italy) & Mariya Koryttseva (Ukraine)
Score: 6-1, 6-4