This article contains Slokas from Bhagavad Gita. Shlokas of Bhagwad Gita are also known as Gita Slokas.

Bhagavad Gita Slokas

Slokas are verses in the praise of God. Shlokas from Bhagwad Gita are renowned for their massive power. Gita Slokas bring the idea of spirituality to our mind. Slokas of Bhagavad Gita can be recited in order to get the peace of mind. Daily chant of these slokas, with their meanings kept in the mind, makes the person aware about the fact of material world and the celestial world. Gita Slokas tell about the eternal divine world which is pure and serene. These slokas make the person realize the purpose, for what he/she has come in this world.

Following are some of the Slokas from Bhagavad Gita with their meanings:

"Cancalam Hi Manah Krsna Pramathi Balavaddrdham
Tasyaham Nigraham Manye Vayoriva Suduskaram"

This Sloka states that the Individual self is the traveler in the chariot of the material body and the intelligence is the driver. Mind is the driving instrument and the senses are the horses. Thus, the self is the enjoyer or sufferer in the relationship of the mind and senses.

"Balam Balavatam Caham Kamaragavivarjitam
Dharmaviruddho Bhutesu Kamo'smi Bharatarsabha"

The Sloka says that God is detached and passionless strength of the dominant and the virtuous craving in men.

Ye Caiva Sattvika Bhava Rajasastamasasca Ye
Matta Everti Tanviddhi Na Tvaham Tesu Temayi

This Shloka tells that God is the only source of all good (satva), obsessive (rajas) and dark (tamas) elements still, they are not within the God nor the deity is within them.

"Tribhirgunamayairbhavairebhih Sarvamidam Jagat
Mohitam Nabhijanati Mamebhyah Paramavyayam"

This Sloka states that the whole world is engrossed in the three elements of Satva, Raja, and Tama .This is the reason, people don't recognize the Eternal God who is beyond them.

"Daivi Hyesa Gunamayi Mama Maya Duratyaya
Mameva Ye Prapadyante Mayametam Taranti Te"

The Shloka states that the celestial maya of God with its threefold attributes is very complex. Yet, those who worship God are able to conquer it.

"Na Mam Duskrtino Mudhah Prapadyante Naradhamah
Mayayapahrtajnana Asuram Bhavamasritah"

This Shloka says that people who are attracted by maya of God lose their mind. They get fascinated by the baser impulses and stop worshipping God. These people are stupid and evil who don't even understand that all these things are part of the web created by the Almighty.

"Caturvidha Bhajante Mam Janah Sukrtino'rjuna
Arto Jijnasurartharthi Jnani Ca Bharatarsabha"

This Sloka says that there are four kinds of good people who worship god, those who desire earthly gains, those who are suffering, those who seek knowledge and those who possess wisdom.

"Tesam Jnani Nityayukta Ekabhaktirvisisyate
Priyo Hi Jnanino'tyarthamaham Sa Ca Mama Priyah"

This Shloka tells that out of the devotees, there are some wise people who want something in return and the people who don't expect any fruit in return of the worship. God loves the people who don't expect anything in return as their love towards the god is true.

"Udarah Sarva Evaite, Jnani Tvatmaiva Me Matam
Asthitah Sa Hi Yuktatma Mamevanuttamam Gatim"

This Sloka states that all those who worship God are commendable. But the outstanding devotees, who worship God with the single motive to merge in the God, are the true devotees who have achieved the highest aim of life.