Color Therapy involves colors for balancing energy & helps in healing. Find out more about Chromotherapy or Colorology in Naturopathy.

Color Therapy

Color therapy is evidently into existence, since the ancient civilizations of Egypt, China and India. Colors are basically forms of visible light with varying wavelengths. As a result, each color has its own energy and wavelength. It is used as an alternative medicine therapy to treat a number of disorders. Colors have also been seen responsible for affecting moods and emotions. Sun is the biggest example which can be cited here. It is deemed to be one of the greatest healers.

Life cannot be imagined without the existence of the sun. This is ascertained by the fact that some people go into depression if they do not receive sunlight. We can also say that all the primary colors seen in the rainbow carry healing properties, unique to each one of them. There is a theory related with the seven colors of the rainbow, which states that all the colors resonate with the energy of the seven main chakras i.e. the energy centers of the body.

All these chakras need to function smoothly, in order to keep the body and mind fit. For maintaining health and well being, the energies of the body chakras are required to be balanced. Here, color therapy is applied to balance and stimulate all the energies by using suitable colors. Once all the chakras are re balanced, there is a great flow of energy within the body, relaxing and rejuvenating the senses completely.

A chromotherapist performs chromotherapy, which includes color and light applied to specific areas and acupoints on the patient's body. However, it should be noted that colors can have with both positive and negative effects. Thus, caution should be exercised while using colors, as applying specific colors and accurate amounts are very critical to the healing process. Some of the tools used for applying colors are gemstones, candles, wands, prisms, colored fabrics, bath treatments, and colored glasses or lenses.

Given below is the list of seven colors of rainbow and their ruling chakras.

Violet - Crown
Violet is the color of the top most chakra, situated on the top of the head. It is used for treating lymphatic system and spleen.

Indigo - Brow
Indigo is the color of the second chakra, situated at the lower part of the forehead. It is used in the treatment of eyes, ears, nose and mental problems.

Blue - Throat
Blue is the color of the third chakra, situated at the throat. It is used for relieving headaches, migraines, muscle cramp, liver disorder and stomach pain.

Green - Heart
Green is the color of the fourth chakra, situated at the heart. It is the central color of the spectrum and is used for treatment of bronchitis, whooping cough, inflammation of the joints and swellings. It is also beneficial for healing cysts, eye, diseases and diabetes.

Yellow - Solar Plexus
Yellow is the color of the fifth chakra, situated just above the belly button. Yellow is applied to cure glandular diseases and diseases of lymphatic system. It also strengthens nervous system and assists metabolism.

Orange - Sacral
Orange is the color of the sixth chakra, situated at the pelvis area. It is used for the treatment of mental illness, depression, discontent and pessimism. It is helpful in the treatment of arteriosclerosis, sclerenecephaly, cardiosclerosis, loss of appetite, anemia, anorexia and digestive system discomforts (e.g., flatulence, cramps).

Red - Base
Red is the color of seventh and the last chakra, situated at the base of the spine. It is applied to support the circulatory functions and is deemed to combat anemia, asthma, diseases of the larynx, certain skin diseases, and chronic coughs.