Here is a brief history and profile of Vijaya Bank, India.

Vijaya Bank

Vijaya Bank was flagged off on 23rd October 1931. Late Shri A.B.Shetty, along with other enterprising farmers in Mangalore, Karnataka, founded the bank to inculcate banking habits in the farming community of Dakshina Kannada district in Karnataka State. In 1958, it was promoted and became a scheduled bank. From 1963 to 68, the Vijaya bank grew both in terms of size and stature - 9 small banks had merged with it, thus contributing to its growth and advancement. On April 15, 1980, the bank was nationalized. Vijaya Bank boasts of being one of the few banks which has undertaken the principal membership of VISA International and MasterCard International. Vijay Bank has been constantly focusing on technological upgradation. As on October 2005, all the 913 branches have been computerized, covering 97% of the bank's total business.

Branches & ATM Services
As of March 2009, Vijaya bank has a network of 1101 branches, 43 Extension Counters and 364 ATMs, spanning across all 28 states and 4 union territories in the country, with the highest number of branches in its home state, Karnataka. At present, 736 branches, 38 extension counters and 11 service branches of Vijaya Bank, covering 93.3% of its total business, are functioning on CBS. At the same time, 747 branches are enabled with RTGS and NEFT.

Products & Services

Deposit Schemes
Loans & Advances
NRI Services   
Remittance Collection and Facilities
Credit Cards
Other Services
Head Office
Vijaya Bank
41/2, Head Office Building
Trinity Circle, Mahatma Gandhi Road
Bangalore G.P.O.
Bangalore - 560001
Phone: 080-25550693, 25584385