NTPC is one of the nine Navratnas. Here is a brief profile and history of NTPC.

NTPC India

NTPC Limited or National Thermal Power Corporation Ltd is the largest thermal power generating company of India. NTPC is the sixth largest thermal power generator in the world and the second most efficient utility in terms of capacity utilisation based on data of 1998.

NTPC was founded in 1975 to give boost to power development in the country as a wholly owned company of the Government of India. Presently, Government of India holds 89.5% equity in the company and the balance 10.5% is held by FIIs, Domestic Banks, Public and others. NTPC is engaged in engineering, construction and operation of power generating plants. It also provides consultancy in the area of power plant constructions and power generation to companies in India and abroad. NTPC was among the first Public Sector Enterprises to enter into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Government in 1987-88. Since then, every year, NTPC has been placed under the 'Excellent category' (the best category). In recognition of its excellent performance and tremendous potential NTPC has been given the status of "Navratna" by the Government of India.

As on date, NTPC's total installed capacity is 27, 904 MW. NTPC's coal based power stations are at: Singrauli (Uttar Pradesh), Korba (Chattisgarh), Ramagundam (Andhra Pradesh), Farakka (West Bengal), Vindhyachal (Madhya Pradesh), Rihand (Uttar Pradesh), Kahalgaon (Bihar), NTCPP (Uttar Pradesh), Talcher (Orissa), Unchahar (Uttar Pradesh), Simhadri (Andhra Pradesh), Tanda (Uttar Pradesh), Badarpur (Delhi), and Sipat (Chattisgarh). NTPC's Gas/Liquid based power stations are located at: Anta (Rajasthan), Auraiya (Uttar Pradesh), Kawas (Gujarat), Dadri (Uttar Pradesh), Jhanor-Gandhar (Gujarat), Rajiv Gandhi CCPP Kayamkulam (Kerala), and Faridabad (Haryana). NTPC's Power Plants with Joint Ventures are located at Durgapur (West Bengal), Rourkela (Orissa), Bhilai (Chhattisgarh), and RGPPL (Maharastra).

Subsidiaries of NTPC

NTPC Electric Supply Company Ltd (NESCL): NESCL is a wholly owned subsidiary of NTPC. It was incorporated in August 2002 with the objective to acquire, establish & operate Electricity Distribution Network in various circles/cities across India. The company provides consultancy in the area of: Turnkey execution, Project monitoring, Quality Assurance and Inspection, and Third Party Quality inspection on the behalf of utility.

NTPC Vidyut Vyapar Nigam Ltd. (NVVN): It was formed to cater to and deal with the vast potential of power trading in the country and optimum capacity utilisation.

NTPC Hydro Limited (NHL): It was set up in December, 2002 to develop small and medium sized Hydro Electric Power Projects of up to 250 MW capacity.

Major Achievements of NTPC
Note: The above information was last updated on 21-07-2007