Here is brief History and Profile of RBI

Reserve Bank of India

The Reserve Bank of India was established on April 1, 1935 in accordance with the provisions of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934. Though initially RBI was privately owned, it was nationalized in 1949. Its central office is in Mumbai where the Governor of RBI sits. RBI has 22 regional offices and most of them are located in state capitals. The Reserve Bank of India also has three fully owned subsidiaries: National Housing Bank (NHB), Deposit Insurance and Credit Guarantee Corporation of India (DICGC), Bharatiya Reserve Bank Note Mudran Private Limited (BRBNMPL).

The functions of Reserve Bank are governed by central board of directors. The board is appointed by the Government of India. The directors are nominated / appointed for a period of four years. As per the Reserve Bank of India Act there are Official Directors and Non-Official Directors. The Official Directors are appointed by the government and include Governor and Deputy Governors of RBI. There cannot be more than four Deputy Governors. Non-Official Directors are nominated by the government. These include ten Directors from various fields and one government official. Apart from these, there are four other Non-Official Directors, one each from four local boards in Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai and New Delhi.

Main Functions of RBI